Manchester's leading amateur Big Band

Our Players

Musical Director

Tim Ashcroft 

Alto Sax

  • Graham Truffet – Band Manager
  • Jess Hawkins
  • Philippa Wainwright
  • Kath Forshaw
  • Dave Bloor

Soprano Sax

  • Sabine Vos van-Lijf

Tenor Sax                                     

  • Howard Keable – Librarian
  • Peter Gaunt
  • Paul Lowndes
  • Glen Marshall
  • John McCann
  • Chris Curson

Baritone Sax

  • Pat Walker


  • Ron Jones
  • Rosie Noyce


  • Christine Skelton – Treasurer
  • Dave Holt


  • Ross Garner
  • Dave Lowery
  • Jane Robinson
  • Paul Crowther
  • Dave Aspinall
  • Mike Welch
  • Gary Wood
  • Lorna Green


  • John Hinds
  • Liam Juniper
  • Sam Murray
  • Sarah Bulman
  • Joe Greenway


Joe Cockx 


Mike Crumpton

Honorary Member

George Mottershead

George first came to a rehearsal nearly 20 years ago. Since then he has attended all our rehearsals and concerts. We have celebrated his 80th, 90th and now his 94th birthday. George has become an honorary member and a friend of the band. Sadly George passed away on 10th July 2017. He was our long time fan and a great character who will be missed by all of us.